Wk5- Artist Conversation- Tony Nguyen

Artist: Tony Nguyen
Exhibition: FUSE: Join to Form a Single Entity
Media: Metals
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West
Website: None
Instagram: @elll_tigre

This week I talked to the amazing artist Tony Nguyen. He is an undergraduate at Cal State Long Beach and he is majoring in Fine Arts and his interest is metal. He was very kind and easy to talk to. Nguyen says that he gets his inspiration from everyday life and the people that he interacts with on an everyday basis. I find it very interesting that the human life gives him inspiration more than anything else.

Nguyen’s art is mostly metal and in his pieces that are mostly dark toned colors. He uses fur in his piece on the right and I thought it totally brought out a different texture from just the simple metal, leather, and brass. I wish that I cow;ld have had the opportunity to touch the pieces myself but there were way too many people around and a picture was all that I could get.

The pieces that he made related back to his feelings and thoughts about life. He explains that in the piece on the right, he has created an actual mailbox and that he allowed an open space so that people can insert mail in the mailbox. He’s interested in learning about what people have to say through the mail box. The ET stands for his alter ego “El Tigre” which I think it pretty cool too because he personalizes his art work and makes it reflect back to him, the artist.

Nguyen’s art pieces are very interesting! I loved his idea of the mailbox and I also loved the combination of materials he used. I’ve definitely never seen anything like it before and it makes me curious as to what he has in store for the future. I never knew metal was such a powerful tool when it comes to Fine Arts. After seeing all of these pieces made out of metal, I would like to know how an artist like Nguyen can accomplish these wonderful pieces. I would have loved to had more time for the conversation so that I could ask him how he created the pieces but overall this week’e exhibit was awesome!

 

Leave a Reply

