Wk11-Artist Experience- Turning Pages

  1. How can we document ephemeral experiences like Turning Pages?
    We can capture ephemeral experiences by taking pictures, videos, and writing about the experiences either in a blog or in a journal.
  2. Can Words & Pictures capture an experience? I definitely think that words an pictures can capture an experience because in the future when you go back and look at the words and pictures, the feelings and emotions you had while making those experiences comes back when viewing it.
  3. Does the style of the words or images matter? I think that it depends on the person and how they take in memories. For some people different styles might matter differently than others, but I think if anything means a lot to you, no matter how you consume the memory, it will always be memorable because of how important it is to you.
  4. Can you think of other ways to share an experience with people who weren’t there to share in it live? You can share your experiences with others by sending them videos through messages or snapchat. There is also FaceTime for people who have iPhones and Skype and other live video chats.
  5. Does the act of trying to document an experience take you out of the experience? I believe that the act of trying to document an experience takes out of the experience if you are being forced to document rather than truly wanting to. For example, if you have to document something for a project then your main goal is only taking the picture or video, etc. If you want to document an experience because say you are having fun, then I don’t think that it takes out the experience if anything it makes the experience better because then you would enjoy going to look back at the documents.

My Experience

Doing this activity really made me question how I document my experiences in my everyday life and I started to question if i did it for me or for others. A lot of time we take pictures because we want to post it on social media for others to see. So after this activity I started to question if I do the same. There was a big difference in the library and bookstore because of the fact that one was documented and the other was not. Now it seems like everything we do, we have to at least take a picture or video to show that we actually did the experience. Overall this activity went well! It made me think a lot about how we consume things and now I am going to acknowledge my memories more.

Leave a Reply

